We had now reached the conclusion of this self-analysis trilogy. The Part III. In case if you hadn’t checked out my Part I and Part II posts then I provided those links for your own convenience as follows (Part I link here. Part II link here). I can’t help it, but to recommend you to check those two out if you still can. Nevertheless, I string up this post in such a way to let you enjoy this one as a ‘standalone’ even if you haven’t actually caught up with those other two posts.

Let’s start with one blunt truth. I was only been able to check-out four out of these twelve films listed here when it was still in theaters. The rest I had only caught up with late on in DVD or streaming. For some reasons unknown, it always bring us more joy when we learn about the news that ‘one’ movie we all checked out in theaters went on to become such as huge box office hit. Similarly say if one ‘other’ film you had watched at theaters flops hard at the box office. The news itself bring some sort of sadness and frustration to you, especially when you loved that particular movie so much. So I hereby admit such feelings and frustrations somehow managed to seep in into this post mostly aimed at the audiences which on many cases includes me as well. I pledge those outrage were purely intentional to make this reading more fun and interactive. Hope you will enjoy this.

BO RC 3a

Glass: The year of guesstimating and predictions opened with this superhero film. Yes, my box office analysis for the previous year started of with this film. I was surprised that I nailed the North American box office figures. My overseas predictions were bit too far off because I was so pumped up by the mere notion of word ‘superheroes’. I hope I was allowed to count this one towards a ‘personal victory’.

Predicted Figures: NA-$110m; Overseas-$200m; Global-$310m.
Actual Numbers: NA-$111m; Overseas-$136m; Global-$247m.

The LEGO Movie 2: Warner Brothers studio lads were desperately trying to emulate the success of their rival animation studios’ success with animated films (such as Pixar, Illumination and Walt Disney Animations). They had been evidently struggling a lot over the later half the past decade. Just when they thought they had something on their horizon, but unfortunately that too went up in smoke. By the way, I surprised even myself when I guessed correctly there was something always off about this sequel or franchise as whole. Audiences had said enough.

Predicted Figures: NA-$110m; Overseas-$120m; Global-$230m.
Actual Numbers: NA-$106m; Overseas-$86m; Global-$192m.

Avengers: Endgame: You know for what audiences never said ‘enough’, Avengers: Endgame, ladies and gentlemen. The highest grossing movie of all time. I guessed it might be the one to leapfrog Titanic, but damn to usurp Avatar from the throne was… was…(struggling with words, man)…just brilliant. Absolutely brilliant. Yes I know I was $400m and change short of where this movie grossed in its lifetime. I listed this one here as one of my accurate prediction was mainly because all I could be able to see when it comes to film’s potential was just the ‘floor’ with the ‘ceiling’ totally out of sight.

Predicted Figures: NA-$740m; Overseas-$1.575b; Global-$2.315b.
Actual Numbers: NA-$858m; Overseas-$1.939b; Global-$2.79b.

John Wick 3: Parabellum: My predictions were spot on. I could have easily accepted the fact if I got this entirely wrong. Because overtime I had became such a huge fan of this series, thus I could have been felt so happy even if it grossed a little over $400m.

Predicted Figures: NA-$165m; Overseas-$160m; Global-$325m.
Actual Numbers: NA-$171m; Overseas-$156m; Global-$327m.

The Secrets Life of Pets 2: Illumination rarely misfires. Surprisingly I sensed this from a distance. Secrets life of Pets was a rousing success no denying that, but for reasons unknown audiences showed very little interest towards this sequel right from the point of its inception. It was not a failure by any means even though it had only managed to gross roughly half of what the original film earned at the box office.

Predicted Figures: NA-$155m; Overseas-$230m; Global-$385m.
Actual Numbers: NA-$159m; Overseas-$271m; Global-$430m.

BO RC 3b

Toy Story 4: I admit that I failed to prophesize Aladdin or perhaps even Captain Marvel as billion dollar films. In the case of Toy Story 4, I was so much sure from get go that this film was somehow going to make it there in the very end. It did gave me a scare at first, then it recovered so beautifully to cap off one near-perfect animated series very fittingly with a billion dollar milestone shattering performance.

Predicted Figures: NA-$425m; Overseas-$580m; Global-$1.005b.
Actual Numbers: NA-$434m; Overseas-$639m; Global-$1.073b.

Annabelle Comes Home: Apart from ‘Superheroes’ and ‘Animations’ the only thing which accumulated profound success at the box office during the past few years were undeniably ‘Horror’ films. Above all, Annabelle Comes Home was indeed belongs to so called ‘The Conjuring Universe’, the second most successful cinematic universe after the uber-successful MCU. I totally was in my zone when predicting the future of this film’s box office performance.

Predicted Figures: NA-$80m; Overseas-$160m; Global-$240m.
Actual Numbers: NA-$74m; Overseas-$157m; Global-$231m.

The Lion King: Much like Avengers: Endgame, I had only been able to see the floor of this film’s box office potential and so I couldn’t be able to see the ceiling that much clearly. But one had to admit, when we were dealing with ‘biggies’ of this magnitude then even coming this close should be deemed accurate enough.

Predicted Figures: NA-$620m; Overseas-$850m; Global-$1.47b.
Actual Numbers: NA-$544m; Overseas-$1.113b; Global-$1.657b.

Once Upon A Time In … Hollywood: Always, there remains an exception to any rule. The rule I am talking about here was, ‘one should not attempt to do big-budgeted film simply relying on the involvement of a talent cast and attachment of a marquee director’. Here we are talking about Quentin Tarantino folks, the mention of his name alone could be enough to guarantee few sold out shows. On the top of that, when you draft Leonardo DiCaprio and Brad Pitt in as the leads then you were absolutely guaranteed of a fail-safe film whether audience ends up liking it or not. I did an admirable job myself in foretelling the future of this film’s performance.

Predicted Figures: NA-$145m; Overseas-$290m; Global-$435m.
Actual Numbers: NA-$142m; Overseas-$232m; Global-$374m.

Fast & Furious Presents: Hobbs & Shaw: I was so very confident that this Fast & Furious franchise spin-off film will sure do big business at the theaters. But in the meantime I was so very certain that this said film would never be able to match the success in the scale of franchise’s most recent mainstream films. And that’s what led to me to foresaw this film’s box office performance so damn accurately.

Predicted Figures: NA-$180m; Overseas-$580m; Global-$760m.
Actual Numbers: NA-$174m; Overseas-$585m; Global-$759m.

BO RC 3c
Images/Poster courtesy of respective film studios.

Rambo: Last Blood: I was spot-on, kudos to myself. Still I was not pleased with the way how most of us treated this evergreen franchise’s latest addition without rendering the respect it deserves. As a result, franchise latest addition sinked at the box office. A performance on par with Glass or perhaps even The Lego Movie Part 2 should have been fine.

Predicted Figures: NA-$50m; Overseas-$45m; Global-$95m.
Actual Numbers: NA-$45m; Overseas-$46m; Global-$91m.

Maleficent: Mistress of Evil: This was definitely not the kind of performance Disney was hoping for, but they also knew that this could have been gone a whole lot worse. Utter lack of ‘family friendly’ attraction during the time of it’s release helped this film a bit, further the lack of traction from the domestic market was evened out by solid stance from the overseas hub.

Predicted Figures: NA-$140m; Overseas-$300m; Global-$440m.
Actual Numbers: NA-$114m; Overseas-$378m; Global-$492m.

Ford v. Ferrari: A solid film which I had an opportunity to watched it in theaters, I believe deserves much more love from the moviegoers than what it actually got. Such a well crafted film, still far away from being a prefect one. I also wanted to tell you this, upon seeing it in theaters I began to desperately hope for a blockbuster. Unfortunately my hopes were thwarted. I took consolation with the fact at least I got the numbers right.

Predicted Figures: NA-$100m; Overseas-$130m; Global-$230m.
Actual Numbers: NA-$118m; Overseas-$108m; Global-$226m.

Frozen II: Speaking of blockbuster, Frozen II box office performance was simply such a fluent and effortless one. At any point during its theatrical run, it never gave me any scares or made me worried with the possibility whether this film will perform as good and as big as I hoped. Such an amazing run at the box office, fully deserved it.

Predicted Figures: NA-$500m; Overseas-$830m; Global-$1.33b.
Actual Numbers: NA-$477m; Overseas-$973m; Global-$1.45b.

Jumanji: The Next Level: Sony’s and Dwayne Johnson’s wonderful year at the box office came to a satisfying conclusion with this crowd-pleasing, satisfying sequel to Jumanji: Welcome to The Jungle. It was an understatement to say something like, “I never been so right about anything”.

Predicted Figures: NA-$300m; Overseas-$500m; Global-$800m.
Actual Numbers: NA-$317m; Overseas-$480m; Global-$797m.


That’s it for the day, folks. I am glad I rediscovered my touch, after having put a hold on my ‘blogging’ for a while, especially because of this another passion project which otherwise kept me completely busy and devoted during that short period. I struggled a lot to strike a balance between these two. In fact, I still do. The good thing here is, so far I kinda enjoying this ‘struggle’. I do absolute my best to try bring you more fresh, new contents at least once every week. See y’all soon.